Let’s Ban Bossy

I can’t tell you how many times in my life I’ve been called bossy, stubborn, intimidating, and other words of the like. Fortunately, I didn’t let those words stop me from becoming clearheaded and independent. I have my mother to thank for that, she always lead me to believe that  I could be who I wanted and that no one  could make me feel inferior except myself. However, not everyone is lucky enough to have someone like Diane.

That is why I am all for Lean In’s and the Girl Scouts campaign to Ban Bossy. For those of you who don’t know what Lean In is, it is a non-profit organization that’s goal is to empower young women and help them reach their dreams and ambitions. Little girls and young women are told they are bossy at a young age and then become less interested in leadership roles. This campaign is trying to help girls and young women to learn to lead and become strong ambitious adults.

Here’s an article from the Wall Street Journal about the movement and the women behind Lean In and Ban Bossy. There’s also a page dedicated to movies and books that have strong female characters, go ahead and check that out.

Of course Beyonce is behind this campaign, and here’s a #banbossy graphic from her and another from Condoleeza Rice. Other people involved are Jennifer Garner, Jane Lynch, Diane von Furstenberg, Jimmie Johnson, Arne Duncan, Anna Maria Chavez, and Sherly Sandberg.

Image From BanBossy.com
Image From BanBossy.com
Image from BanBossy.com
Image from BanBossy.com

 

Also, remember that it’s not about banning a real word, it’s about empowering young women to believe in themselves beyond what people label them. It’s about letting girls know that just because someone calls you a name and makes you feel bad about having an opinion or knowing information, you shouldn’t stop being who you are or wanting to be a leader and have a thirst for knowledge. It’s a great campaign aimed at teaching young girls to be themselves.

 

xo

Leave a Reply

