Book Review: Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore

 

This book had been on my list for a while and when I finally got around to it I finished in about 2 days. The book is about a young man, Clay, who loses his job and find work at a strange bookstore that is open for 24-hours run by Mr. Penumbra and has no customers except for those who borrow and trade books from the back of the store. Soon Clay starts to uncover the books secrets and goes on an adventure.

The book was interesting and a light read. I do wish there had been more action, but I was still captivated by the story.

I would suggest this book for those who like books that are different. It wasn’t something I would say I read all the time, but I’m glad I did!   There is a prequel, Ajax Penumbra 1969, an origin story of the sorts, that I want to read next. I added it to my goodreads!

One thought on “Book Review: Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore

Leave a Reply

